What does the Dove represent?


Have you wondered about what the dove symbolises in the Bible? A dove symbolises peace, innocence and is a very gentle creature. God instructed Noah to use a dove to see if there was dry land after God flooded the earth. The white Dove (white represents purity) represents the Holy Spirit.

The nine main feathers on the one wing represents the nine gifts of the Holy Spirit and the nine main feathers on the other wing represent the nine Fruits of the Holy Spirit and the five main feathers on a dove’s tail represents the five-fold ministry.

The Holy Spirit grants and empowers His children with the nine gifts of the Holy Spirit as He chooses and sees fit. As we journey with Christ and allow Him to renew our minds and attitudes, we will start to see the nine attributes of the Fruit of the Holy Spirit start to blossom in our lives as a result of His presence within us. Christ gave His Church the five-fold ministry to equip, lead and guide the saints.

Our Father the most amazing artist has put together our extraordinary body with each part having a unique and specific purpose and role to play, being perfectly balanced according to His Will, when each part works together as intended by our Father.

The Lord has designed His children to intentionally depend on one another’s gift’s and even though we all have an important function individually, we function as one body under Christ, our Head. As members of His body, we should rejoice and celebrate in each other’s gift’s and differences.

Our focus and aim should be working together for His Kingdom and not solely for our own gain. God has equipped and empowered us with Jesus Christ our Head to follow as He provides the perfect example for us and the perfect example of our Father who is love.

The 9 gifts of the Holy Spirit is:

  • The message of wisdom;
  • The word of knowledge and understanding;
  • Faith is given;
  • The gifts of healings;
  • The working of miracles;
  • Prophecy;
  • Discernment of spirits;
  • Various kinds of tongues; and
  • Interpretation of tongues.

1 Corinthians 12:8-10

To one is given through the Spirit the message of wisdom, and to another the word of knowledge and understanding according to the same Spirit; to another faith by the same, and to another the gifts of healings by the one Spirit; and to another the working of miracles, and to another prophecy, and to another discernment of spirits, to another various kinds of tongues, and to another interpretation of tongues.

The 9 fruits of the Holy Spirit is:

  • Love;
  • Joy;
  • Peace;
  • Patience;
  • Kindness;
  • Goodness;
  • Faithfulness;
  • Gentleness; and
  • Self-control.

Galatians 5:22-23

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control. Against such things there is no law.

The five-fold ministry is:

  • Apostles;
  • Prophets;
  • Evangelists;
  • Pastors; and
  • Teachers.

Ephesians 4:11-13

And He Himself appointed some as apostles, some as prophets, some as evangelists, and some as pastors and teachers, to fully equip and perfect the saints for works of service, to build up the body of Christ; until we all reach oneness in the faith and in the knowledge of the Son of God, to become a mature believer, reaching to the measure of the fullness of Christ.

As we pursue and seek God during intimate fellowship with Him, He brings us into a deeper revelation and understanding of His true nature and character. This helps us to become more like Christ, His beloved Son, which is God’s Will for our lives.

We are truly and undeniable blessed with the most amazing gift, Jesus Christ our King and Saviour.

Luke 3:22

And the Holy Spirit descended on Him in bodily form like a dove, and a voice came from heaven, “You are My Son, My Beloved, in You I am well pleased and delighted!”


You may want to know more about our Nanny Agency.

Feel welcome to follow us on our Facebook page.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Shopping Cart